top of page

Come with me, dance my dear Winter's so cold this year

(This song is properly old, surely you get it Dad 😘 )

Waking up in Denmark is a disconcerting thing. The dark outside the window is is no-way reflective of the time, as at this time of year, the sun doesn't rise until 8:30 in the morning. So when I awoke at 6:15 this morning, for the briefest moment held out hope that I had managed to sleep for the entire night, after all, I had been exhausted when I went to bed just 5 hours earlier and it stands to reason that if I am tired I will sleep for longer to compensate. My body begs to differ. After the crushing defeat of another wasted sleep in, I read my book until I was supposed to get up at 8. At which point, there was just enough light to see that the entire world outside was covered with a thick layer of frost. Everything was white and icy, yet not quite snow. Still, It's the closest that I have ever been, so I was still excited.

When I reached the table, I discovered two little wrapped chocolate Santas at my place at the table. Nina explained that the elves came in the night and left them for me, as they would do every night in the lead up to Christmas Eve. Breakfast consisted of fresh baked buns that were similar to scones, with cream cheese on top. Nina then showed me another tradition, where they took these buns and buttered them, then added a thin wafer of chocolate on top (this is quite usual breakfast during Christmas season, I checked)

In preparation for today's extended period of time outdoors, I was told to layer up. I started with thermals (like long johns) then added a pair of hiking pants and a long sleeved shirt. I then added a thin knitted jumper, then a thick one over the top. Next I put on some ankle socks, and then a thick woollen pair that went to my knees. I then put on a borrowed pair of hiking boots designed to withstand snow, an over all of that I put on a massive ski jumpsuit designed to keep you warm while looking like the Michelin Tyre Man. To top off the ensemble, Nina gave me a fabulous neck warmer come balaclava with a distressed-look Australia flag on it. Like Ryan in earlier photo's, I was looking très chic.

My delight at the frost only grew once we arrived at the scout hall, as I discovered the intricate patterns on each of the leaves on the ground, every blade of grass. The ground was unusually stiff, especially the gravel carpark, which the frost had formed into one solid piece. My antics were laughed at by all in attendance, as I ran around looking at everything; pulling frozen leaves from the ground, jumping on the grass to test the earth's increased solidity and squealing in amazement at the pound that had formed a thin crust of ice over its entire surface.

Inside the tent was numerous games such as giant connect 4, massive noughts & crosses, and an infuriating game that requires you to roll a botchi ball up a hill into a hole (Sounds simple right?) The sausages were cooked in a fry pan over an open fire and served with the danish rye bread (really dense, and very dry) and the Purple Stuff (red cabbage cooked in vinegar, a traditional Christmas food)

I was rostered to be on Pizza making (in a wood fired oven), then working at the front selling tokens that could be exchanged for coins. Freddy and I ended up working together for most of the day, occasionally speaking in a Scottish accent to each other to confuse onlookers. Inside, they were selling handmade items like crocheted angels and homemade hard candies.

I feel like here is as good a spot as any to place my rant. All throughout the day, I was surrounded by breath-taking scenery and really wanted to share that with my family, friends and yes, even my blog. Before I came on this trip, I knew I would want to take good photos, so I swapped my shoddy android for an Iphone as it has a far better camera. Since I have been here I have discovered a fun fact, however. Iphone's don't like the cold. Like, at all. So much so that when the battery gets cold, the phone shuts down and restarts. Every. Single. Time.

Like, seriously, I'm cold too, you don't see me conking out when the air is a bit nippy. I actually put my phone inside my gloves and then would pull them out as quick as possible, then frantically typed in my pass code (as it is required after you restart) and attempted to open the camera app and grab a photo before it would shut down again. Am I going to have to buy my phone a jumper? Why is irony so cruel? Also note that this frequent process drained the battery even faster than just being an Iphone already does, so it was flat for most of the day.

Anyway, after the fair was over, we packed up everything, including that incredibly massive tent (Scouts Australia really need to up their game), and then they ordered 5 family pizza's for the 40 or so people there. Good Lord, that was more than enough. Forget Costco pizza, this thing had to be closer to 25 inches. Two pieces easily had the surface area of a family sized pizza in Australia (Again, come on Australia, up your game). eating on piece of this was a massive achievement, as the slice was literally bigger than my head. Best of all, they ate their pizza with salad on top. Like iceberg lettuce, raw tomato and thousand island dressing, the works. Strange.

Mathilde left then for work at the supermarket until 10, and Freddy, for what ever reason has arranged to go on an overnight hike and camp out (In this temperature, after the massive day we've had, leaving after dark) and won't be back until tomorrow, So it's just me with Uve and Nina, who has spent the last couple of hours making a gargantuan quantity of vanilla cookie dough to make gifts for 5 different families. It was decided that the pizza 'lunch' would be enough for dinner, so now we are watching the Christmas program and having tea. It's been a long day, so I'm ready for a calming finish.

Here's to hoping for a full night of sleep.

bottom of page